Natural Lines in Plants

This variegated spider plant has white stripes on its leaves.

This variegated spider plant has white stripes on its leaves.

Since my family owns the only flowerstore in the town where I grew up, I notice things about plants that others normally don’t. I also find patterns in plants to be interesting. Some of the plants around the University of Regina campus have leaves that are lined with white. I have my very own dracaena plant, and I love the white stripes on the leaves.

This plant has a lined pattern inside the leaves.

This plant has a lined pattern inside the leaves.


Sometimes, there aren’t just straight lines in plants. The second picture has a plant where there is a clear pattern of lines amongst the leaves of the plant. Sometimes, leaves can have no lined pattern, one lined pattern, or many lined patterns. The contrast, however, makes it really hard to miss the beautiful lined pattern.

I found this video, here, to go into detail about plant leaves and lines a bit more. Enjoy!

Where do you see lines in plants?

Leave a Reply

