Are Games In Classrooms Effective?

Because of my ECMP355 class, I’ve been thinking of classroom technologies quite often. You know – physical things like projectors, photocopiers, scanners, as well as softwares my teachers used. Some of my teachers were more interested in online stuff than others – I had a teacher who made us use twitter for a part of the class, and I remember her going over other softwares. Another teacher used several online resources and made them mandatory – online presentations, websites like Timetoast, and my english teacher used Super Text Twist – A game the whole class loved.

The first view of text twist.

The first view of text twist.


Out of all the things that were used in high school, I think the one I love the most was Text Twist. Most of my classmates did not enjoy reading, so English class was a bore. However, when my English teacher told us that “if we worked hard all week, we could play Super Text Twist for the last half an hour of Friday’s class.” I’ve never seen a class of students more diligent or enthusiastic about something.
I've completed this round!

I’ve completed this round!


My whole class loved the game; everyone would try to contribute by throwing words out, because we only had three rounds before she’d shut it off and we wanted to keep it going. The kids who were good at English were typically quiet people, but when they contributed the biggest word, everyone else applauded. It brought my whole class together in a way that wasn’t really accomplished in my other classes. In the end, I think our high score was something like 140,000. In my future endeavours, I will strongly consider buying the official “super text twist” version.

What are your opinions on games in the classroom? Do you have any favourites?

One thought on “Are Games In Classrooms Effective?

  1. When I was in my field placements I saw that kids loved to play games, even if they were educational. The games had a lot of benefits if they were chosen by the teacher or a trusted site was chosen. I plan on utilizing it as much as possible in my future career. Even during lesson plans I create jeopardy games for assessments or whatnot.

Leave a Reply

