Written Language: One Big Line?

Today, when preparing notes for a class I was about to attend, I noticed something that I felt I should have noticed earlier: Written Language is nothing but a bunch of lines! Every written language, no matter the origin, is made up entirely of lines. Lines are so important to our everyday lives that I feel we do not notice it any more. English printing and handwriting is taught to children brush stroke by brush stroke – as it is in pretty much every language. Some languages make this more apparent than others, like Japanese or Arabic calligraphy. However, I think it’s important that we recognize the importance of lines in our daily lives – for if we did not have line, we would not have written language.

Leave a Reply

