Learning Project: Bodies as Shapes

Learning Project Banner

Yet again I progress with my learning project. This time, I take a look at Foervraengd’s tutorials, this time focusing on “Drawing the Base” of bodies. She introduces works and influences by Vilppu, Bammes, and Mentler. (I’ve included links for two of the three people mentioned, but I could not find anything on Mentler himself.) She discusses different techniques to drawing bodies.

The new method really helped me out. It provided a base to draw muscles off of, so that I was not struggling with placement in the void of the white paper. Towards the end, I brought out colored leads to use. I even used a few poses off of PoseManiacs to refer off of. I felt much more comfortable with what I was doing!

Here are my works for this segment:

Practicing cubes. Looks like my markers bled through the page a bit, but since this was just a practice page, that's fine.

Practicing cubes. Looks like my markers bled through the page a bit, but since this was just a practice page, that’s fine.

Foervraengd has many different influences, such as Vilpu Bammes' work. He focused on vertical parts in bodies.

Foervraengd has many different influences, such as Vilpu Bammes’ work. He focused on vertical parts in bodies.

I redrew the imagine on Foervrvaengd's second tutorial page, and gave it a test.

I redrew the imagine on Foervrvaengd’s second tutorial page, and gave it a test.

I used the technique I've learned in this part of the tutorial to recreate several poses.

I used the technique I’ve learned in this part of the tutorial to recreate several poses.

Leave a Reply

