Prologue: Page Two

And suddenly, page two! We are introduced to a new character.

And suddenly, page two! We are introduced to a new character.

And then all of a sudden, page two is complete! I suppose I should pace myself more when creating these, but when it comes to my personal project, I enjoy it to a point where it is hard to stop myself. I’m finally becoming more comfortable with Photoshop! While the program has limitless possibilities, I was initially daunted by them all. Now, however, I feel as though I have a more focused aim when working with it, and I know what to do in order to achieve the look I want. During the creation of the second page, I tried to refine my ability by experimenting with bounce lighting, contrast, and colour theory/mood. I feel as though I was more successful with this page than the last – though, as I review my finished page, I’m noticing errors with lighting that I will have to remember as I proceed with the prologue’s creation. Prior to creating the backgrounds, I downloaded brushes from Deviantart user Velvetcat. I’ve realized that using custom brushes is helping my process immensely.

I also drew inspiration from one of my favourite digital artists, Tamberella, by adding a bounce light. I really admire how Tamber creates mood through careful colour/light placement. Essentially, I will be trying to focus more on mood/contrast/colour/lighting in my next pages!

Leave a Reply

